Promo Ends At 12:00 a.m.

Eagletvmounting
LG A1 OLED TV Review 2023

LG A1 OLED TV Review 2023

Popular Category: TVS

Table of Contents

LG A1 OLED TV Review 2023

The LG A1 OLED TV is one of the best-value 4K TVs on the market. It has excellent picture quality due to its OLED display, unique gaming features and overall performance. If you’re looking for a new TV, the LG A1 OLED is a good option.

We’ll review all the essential features of the LG A1 OLED in this review. Let’s begin with a brief overview of the TV’s features and a comprehensive review of its performance.

If you are in a hurry, here’s a summary of our comprehensive review!

LG A1 OLED TV Review 2023

**If you buy via our affiliate links, we earn a commission**

Key Specs

Panel Type: OLED  | Size: 48 55, 65, 77 | Resolution: 4K | Smart TV software: webOS  | HDR: Dolby Vision, HDR10, and HLG  | Audio: Dolby Atmos | Refresh Rate: 60Hz | Ports: 3x HDMI 2.0 (1x eARC),  2x USB 2.0 |  Audio: 20 watts

8.7

Rtings 8.5/10

all things tech 9/10

The Tech Giant 9.5/10

Samuel Jones Tech 9/10

4.7/5 by 781+ Users at Amazon

4.7/5 by 476+ Users at Best Buy

4.7/5 by 520+ Users at LG

Design & Build 8.5/10

Picture Quality 8.6/10

Sound Quality 8.5/10

Gaming Features 8.5/10

Smart Features 9/10

Value For Money 8.5/10


Eagle Verdict

Overall, the LG A1 OLED TV is an excellent choice for anyone looking for a high-quality TV with excellent picture quality, a modern design, and Smart features. It is a great choice for games because it has a low input lag and is compatible with HDMI 2.1. Even though it’s not the cheapest TV on the market.It’s also great for watching sports or TV shows because it has a wide viewing area and handles reflections exceptionally well. However, it can’t get very bright, so there are better choices for a bright room.

Other Experts Say?

Rtings

“The LG A1 OLED is an excellent TV for pretty much any usage. Deep, inky blacks make it an outstanding choice for watching movies in the dark.”

all things tech

 If you’re looking for a TV with exceptional viewing angles that delivers black level, 4k upscaling even with the slightly inferior processor, LG A1 OLED TV is the best option.

The Tech Giant

“Overall impression of what this TV is like, but I’m gonna tell you now I think this is areat little TV with 4K resolution, high contrast ratio, and wide viewing angle.”

Samuel Jones Tech

The LG A1 OLED is a great TV; going for it could save your money. It has three HDMI 2.0 ports and two USB ports because it’s just a 60HZ Hz, 4K resolution and fast response time.

Show More Show Less

Pros

  • Perfect black uniformity.
  • Wide Viewing angle
  • Dolby Vision and Dolby Atmos support
  • 20W built-in audio
  • Reliable, easy-to-use smart platform

Cons

  • No HDMI 2.1
  • Relatively dim 60Hz panel

8.5/10

Design & Build Quality

LG A1 OLED TV Review 2023

The LG A1 OLED TV has a sleek, modern style that would look good in any living room. The TV is only a few millimeters thick ( 4.7cm ), which makes it one of the most miniature TVs on the market. This feature allows it to be attached flush against the wall, producing a seamless appearance. 

The power cable is placed on the left side, away from the rest of the connectors, while the only other thing we find at the back is special holes for the VESA wall mount (VESA 300×200).

Overall, the LG A1 has excellent build quality. The display area of the body is made of metal and feels well-made. The section that houses the electronics is plastic but is well-built. 

Also, the stand with it is made of plastic and feels cheap compared to the metal stands with higher-tier versions.

Design Facts

  • Style (Front & Back): No Curved 
  • Bezels: (4.7cm) millimetres thick bezels 
  • Max Thickness: 1.89″ (4.8 cm)) 
  • Wall Mount: VESA 300×200
  • Build Quality: Excellent Build Quality 
  • Stand: Yes
  • Expert Review: Excellent Tv

What Other Experts Say?

“Overall, the LG A1 has excellent build quality. The back of the TV is plain, and unfortunately, there’s no cable management. Like the LG C1 OLED, the top half is metal, but the thicker bottom portion that houses the electronics is plastic.”

Rtings

8.6/10

Picture Quality

The LG A1 OLED TV delivers excellent picture quality, 4K resolution, and easy-to-use controls. It also has wide viewing angles, which are great for watching TV shows, movies, and sports with a group of friends.

Continue reading to learn more about its picture quality performance in movies & Tv shows.

Picture Quality Factors

  1. Movies
  2. Sports & Shows
  3. HDR Picture

What Other Experts Say!

“The picture quality of LG A1 OLED TV is fantastic. The picture is just that great at the end of the day it’s still an OLED TV, so you will get excellent black levels, great, you know, great contrast on this TV. “

The Tech Giant
9.5/10

Movies

The LG A1 OLED TV is excellent for watching movies. It has a 4K resolution, nearly infinite contrast ratio (Inf: 1), which gives a fantastic and clear picture. 

The colors are bright and natural, and the OLED’s ability to make perfect blacks creates a great contrast. This feature is essential if you watch many movies or TV shows with dark scenes, as it improves the overall watching experience.

In my experience, the OLED screen shows perfect blacks with no blooming and excellent gray uniformity (1.773%). Older movies are upscaled well, and no artifacts stand out. 

Unfortunately, it can’t get clear of judder from all sources, so older devices like cable boxes don’t play movies smoothly, and the almost instantaneous response time makes slow-pan shots stutter.

Display Type: OLED 
Resolution: 4K
Contrast & local dimming: Near Infinite contrast ratio (Inf: 1), no local Dimming 
Upscaling: 4k Upscaling 

7.5/10

HDR Picture

The LG A1 OLED TV HDR picture quality gives you a refined experience with HDR10, Dolby Vision, and HLG. It also has an excellent color gamut, covering almost all of the DCI P3 color space used by most HDR material today. 

With near-perfect coverage of the DCI P3 color space utilized by most current HDR content and a decent range of the wider Rec. 2020 color space, the LG A1 has an excellent color gamut (72.34%) and good color volume (32.9%).

In our testing, It also has good tone mapping in both color spaces, so fine details are kept in places with bright, saturated colors. Dark, saturated colors are correctly displayed thanks to the nearly infinite contrast ratio.

Unfortunately, the HDR peak brightness (416 cd/m²) could be better, so small highlights in many scenes don’t stand out the way the author of the content wanted them to.

HDR Type: Dolby Vision, HDR10, and HLG 
HDR Peak Brightness: 416 cd/m² 
Native HDR Gradient: 100% Black to 50% Gray 
Color Gamut: Excellent color gamut (72.34%) 
Color Volume: Good color volume (32.9%) 

9/10

Sports & Shows

The LG A1 OLED is great for watching sports and TV shows in rooms with a lot of light. The nearly instantaneous response time (0.3 ms) means there isn’t much blur behind things moving quickly. 

Although it handles reflections (2.0%) exceptionally well, it could be more brilliant to be a better choice for environments with a lot of light. 

In my experience, Its wide viewing angles make it a fantastic option for those who like to move around while watching television. The smart interface has an extensive selection of streaming apps. 

Low-resolution content is upscaled well, which is excellent for watching older shows, and the grey uniformity is impressive.

Brightness: 500 nits of peak brightness 
Response Time: Outstanding response time (0.3ms) 
Reflections: Fantastic reflection handling (1.5%) 
Viewing Angles: Wide viewing Angle 
Gray uniformity: Impressive gray uniformity ( 1.773%) 


8.5/10

Sound Quality

The sound of the A1 is less qualitative as well. This LG OLED TV differs from the others because it doesn’t have subwoofers. So the sound is less rich and powerful. The 2 speakers sound clear, and the sound doesn’t get distorted when I increase the volume. 

So the sound is excellent when you mostly watch live TV, like the news or TV shows. If you like to watch movies and TV shows and want to watch a soccer game, you should get a soundbar.

We also know that the A1 has 20 W of built-in audio and supports Dolby Vision HDR and Dolby Atmos audio.

The A1 has a 20-watt sound system with two channels and two speakers. An AI Sound mode also turns music from two channels into virtual 5.1 surround sound. This makes it seem like the soundstage is more extensive, and the sound is more immersive.

In my experience, this LG A1 has a normal frequency response (80.00 Hz) with low overall distortion at max volume. There’s significant intermodulation distortion. It varies depending on the content; not everyone will notice it.

Sound Facts:

  • Power: Good 20 watts   
  • Frequency response: Good (80.00 Hz) 
  • Sound modes (ALLM): Yes 
  • Dolby Vision: Yes 
  • Distortion: Acceptable distortion 
  • Expert Review: Amazing Tv 

What Other Experts Say?

“The sound quality is amazing. The sound is clear, powerful, and has a lot of action. With it, people can enjoy sound that fills the whole room and takes their enjoyment to the next level.”

The TV Dan

8.5/10

Gaming Performance

The LG A1 OLED TV is excellent for video games. In gaming mode, the input lag is very low, and the response time (0.3 ms) is almost instantaneous, so the motion looks clear with little blur.

It has a nearly infinite contrast ratio, perfect black uniformity, and an incredible color gamut, all essential for an HDR experience, but its brightness is limited. 

In my experience, The LG A1 only has a 60Hz refresh rate and doesn’t support variable refresh rate technology, so it’s not as good for gaming, and some games will have more flickering and tearing.

This TV can play high-dynamic range (HDR) video games on modern gaming consoles or personal computers. Compatible with: Xbox One X|S, Xbox Series X|S, PS4 Pro, PS5, GTX 10 series, and later, and AMD RX series graphics cards.

Unfortunately, it doesn’t support HDMI 2.1 bandwidth or variable refresh rate technology, so it can’t make the most of the latest gaming systems.

Gaming Facts:

  • Input Lag: Low 
  • HDMI Ports: 3x HDMI 2.0 (1x eARC)
  • Variable Refresh Rate: 60HZ 
  • Response time: 0.3 ms 
  • Compatibility with Consoles: yes (Xbox One X|S, Xbox Series X|S, PS4 Pro) 
  • Expert Review: Best Tv

What Other Experts Say?

“The LG A1 is an excellent TV for playing video games.  On the other hand, it can’t take full advantage of the PS5 or Xbox Series X, as it doesn’t support 4k @ 120Hz gaming, it doesn’t support variable refresh rate technology, and it’s limited to a 60Hz refresh rate.”

Rtings

9/10

Smart Feature & Inputs

The LG A1 runs the latest LG WebOS Smart TV platform. The A1 supports the HDR10, Dolby Vision, and HLG HDR formats. Unfortunately, there’s no support for the HDR10+ format.

The interface is easy to use and very responsive, and we didn’t notice any issues during testing. LG’s app store has many apps so that you can find one for your favourite streaming service.

All the big players are there, including Netflix, YouTube, Amazon Prime, HBO, Vudu, Hulu, Google Play Movies, Disney+, and Apple TV+, to name a few.

In my experience, the LG A1 OLED TV has three HDMI ports that use the latest 2.0 standards, meaning they can support 4K content at 120 fps from the latest game consoles.

Key Smart Features:

  • Operating system: Web OS 
  • App selection: Great 
  • User interface: Easy to use Interface 
  • Voice Control: Yes 
  • HDMI: 3x HDMI 2.0 (1x eARC) 
  • USB: 2x USB 2.0 
  • Bluetooth: yes
  • WIFI: yes 
  • Ethernet: yes 

What Other Experts Say?

“This TV has the slightly older a7 generation 4 processor, and I did find that it was a little bit slower just marginally going through different menu screens in terms of the operatingsoftware, well, it’s their latest Web OS.”

all things tech

8.5/10

Value For Money

The LG A1 OLED TV is widely considered one of the best TVs on the market. It offers outstanding picture quality thanks to its use of 4K resolution and HDR technology.


Unboxing & First Impression

When I got my brand-new LG A1 OLED TV, I was overjoyed because I am a huge fan of TV and technology. After opening the box holding my brand-new set, I couldn’t wait to get started on my first impression review.

Check Out: Best TVs For Sports

In the box of the LG A1, there are the usual things:

  • User manual
  • Remote
  • Batteries
  • Cable tie

When I first looked at the LG A1, I noticed it appeared different from LG’s more expensive OLED TVs. The screen leans on two small leg stands. 
This is a significant change from the LG C1’s wide steel stand. At first view, the difference in image quality is difficult to identify. Thanks to the OLED display, the images have high contrast, and the colour details are also visible.

Jason Reynolds

I have been working in the electrical and Audio/Visual field for over 19 years. My focus for EagleTVMounting is to provide concise expertise in everything I write. The greatest joy in life is to provide people with insight information that can potentially change their viewpoints. Our #1 goal is just that!

Related articles

The Sony XBR65 X900F is a high-end 4K smart TV with impressive picture quality and a sleek design.With its impressive 65-inch display …

If you’re in the market for a high-quality Tv with exceptional picture quality and advanced features, you’re in the right place. The …

The Samsung QLED Q60B series is a line of televisions that offers a stunning viewing experience with vibrant colours, sharp contrast, and …